3650+ Days!

Thursday, June 8th, 2023

I met someone at home today, he came over with my housemate and we got talking. I found out we were both from Delta State and that he also attended the University of Benin (UNIBEN). He told me he studied Accounting and right there and then, I knew he was one of my dad’s students without asking.

I mentioned my dad’s name and he was surprised and asked what are the odds? Funny thing is that we had met in work and we had spoke before, but it was today of all days I discovered this about him.

We talked about my dad and it was the same testimony. He was a very nice man, funny, loved teaching and made everyone feel at home. He said coming to school and studying Accounting in 100level he was grateful he had my dad as one of his lecturers. It made him feel at home and made life easier for him🥰.

When he was leaving he sent his condolences and all the emotions I had held in since morning almost broke free🥺. The whole event was so overwhelming for me.

I do not believe this was a coincidence, for he to have come to my house on my dad’s death anniversary.

I was grateful because it was a gift for me🥹. A reminder of my father virtue and the lives he had touched and one attribute that I learnt from him: to be kind, spread love and leave everyone better than where you met them.

Thank you for this experience after 3650+ days🤍.

Rest on Dad🕊

And Goodnight🌙.

Tomorrow we go again💪🏻.

Leave a comment